Event Intelligence
Zoujaj restarts fire-hit production line; repair cost rises to SAR 16.1M
Factory shutdownBreaking Updated 29th August 2026 · 05:40
- Significance
- Material
- Impact
- Negative
- Confidence Confidence indicates how reliable ProcIntel considers the event assessment based on the quality, quantity and independence of the supporting evidence. It does not measure the event's importance.
- Moderate
- Evidence
- 1 source 1 signal
Overview
What happened Source facts
Zoujaj raises total furnace expansion project cost to SAR 119.9 million after adding production line upgrades The National Company for Glass Industries ( Zoujaj) repaired and restarted the production line at its Riyadh plant that was damaged by a fire. In a Tadawul filing, the company said the actual damage to the forming machine and glass feeder was more extensive than initially assessed. In addition, the lengthy procurement of specialized spare parts from the original equipment manufacturer, followed by the arrival of technical support teams, extended the repair period and resulted in a longer-than-expected production shutdown. The company said the estimated costs increased from SAR 1.3 million to approximately SAR 3.1 million for repairs and from SAR 2.9 million to SAR 13 million for business interruption. The higher estimate reflects the greater extent of the damage, the need to import specialized spare parts, and the extended repair period, which halted production from September 2025 through July 2026. Zoujaj said the financial impact is reflected in a SAR 16.1 million reduction in profit between September 2025 and July 2026. The company added that both the physical damage and business interruption losses are covered under its insurance policy, and the necessary procedures have been initiated with the insurer to process the claim. According to Argaam data, Zoujaj announced in October 2025 that a limited fire had occurred on one of the production lines at its Riyadh factory.
Suggested considerations
Derived from this Event's rating and type — prompts for your team to evaluate, not reported facts and not recommendations.
- Monitor for explicit timing evidence.
- Determine whether internal exposure warrants earlier investigation.
Date evidence from the source: “In addition, the lengthy procurement of specialized spare parts from the original equipment manufacturer, followed by the arrival of technical support teams, extended the repair period and resulted in a longer-than-expected production shutdown.</p> <p ></p> <p >The company said the estimated costs increased from SAR 1.3 million to approximately SAR 3.1 million for repairs and from SAR 2.9 million to SAR 13 million for business interruption.</p> <p ></p> <p >The higher estimate reflects the greater extent of the damage, the need to import specialized spare parts, and the extended repair period, which halted production from September 2025 through July 2026.</p> <p >Zoujaj said the financial impact is reflected in a SAR 16.1 million reduction in profit between September 2025 and July 2026.</p> <p ></p> <p >The company added that both the physical damage and business interruption losses are covered under its insurance policy, and the necessary procedures have been initiated with the insurer to process the claim.</p> <p ></p> <p >According to <strong><span >Argaam</span><span ></span></strong>data, Zoujaj announced in October 2025 that a limited fire had occurred on one of the production lines at its Riyadh factory.</p> </div> </div>”
Suggested Considerations
These are prompts for a procurement team to evaluate, generated from this Event's rating and type. They are not reported facts and not instructions — ProcIntel does not know your contracts, suppliers or exposure.
- Monitor for explicit timing evidence.
- Determine whether internal exposure warrants earlier investigation.
How to read this Event
- Source facts what the original source reported.
- ProcIntel assessment ProcIntel's own interpretation of those facts.
- Consideration a suggested question for your team — never a recommendation to act.
Source Facts
Only what the sources reported. Nothing on this page is ProcIntel's interpretation.
Recorded source facts
Zoujaj raises total furnace expansion project cost to SAR 119.9 million after adding production line upgrades The National Company for Glass Industries ( Zoujaj) repaired and restarted the production line at its Riyadh plant that was damaged by a fire. In a Tadawul filing, the company said the actual damage to the forming machine and glass feeder was more extensive than initially assessed. In addition, the lengthy procurement of specialized spare parts from the original equipment manufacturer, followed by the arrival of technical support teams, extended the repair period and resulted in a longer-than-expected production shutdown. The company said the estimated costs increased from SAR 1.3 million to approximately SAR 3.1 million for repairs and from SAR 2.9 million to SAR 13 million for business interruption. The higher estimate reflects the greater extent of the damage, the need to import specialized spare parts, and the extended repair period, which halted production from September 2025 through July 2026. Zoujaj said the financial impact is reflected in a SAR 16.1 million reduction in profit between September 2025 and July 2026. The company added that both the physical damage and business interruption losses are covered under its insurance policy, and the necessary procedures have been initiated with the insurer to process the claim. According to Argaam data, Zoujaj announced in October 2025 that a limited fire had occurred on one of the production lines at its Riyadh factory.
This Event rests on a single report. It has not been corroborated by a second, independent source.
-
Zoujaj restarts fire-hit production line; repair cost rises to SAR 16.1M
Zoujaj raises total furnace expansion project cost to SAR 119.9 million after adding production line upgrades The National Company for Glass Industries (Zoujaj) repaired and restarted the production line at its Riyadh plant that was damaged by a fire. In a Tadawul filing, the company said the actual damage to the forming machine and glass feeder was more extensive than initially assessed. In addition, the lengthy procurement of specialized spare parts from the original equipment manufacturer, followed by the arrival of technical support teams, extended the repair period and resulted in a…
Open original report → argaam.com
Linked Signals
Every collected Signal that contributed to this Event, with how it was matched.
| Published | Headline | Source | Matched text | Extraction confidence | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2nd August 2026 | Zoujaj restarts fire-hit production line; repair cost rises to SAR 16.1M | Argaam - Company Disclosures | halted production | 95.0 | high precision phrase |
Entities
The real-world companies, places, commodities and organisations this Event involves.
Country 2
- Saudi Arabia reused entity extraction · confidence 95.0
- United Arab Emirates reused entity extraction · confidence 95.0
Government Organisation 1
- Saudi Exchange (Tadawul) reused entity extraction · confidence 75.0
Full linking detail
| Entity | Type | Link method | Confidence | Source article |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saudi Arabia | Country | reused entity extraction | 95.0 | article |
| United Arab Emirates | Country | reused entity extraction | 95.0 | article |
| Saudi Exchange (Tadawul) | Government Organisation | reused entity extraction | 75.0 | article |
Why ProcIntel Rates This
Every rating below is produced from the logged facts by consistent, rules-based scoring — never from the tone or wording of the source.
Significance Significance estimates the potential procurement impact of the event, including factors such as supply, cost, operations, geography and strategic importance.
3 · Material- This type of disruption typically has a moderate procurement impact.
- No specific geography identified yet.
- 1 organisation affected.
- No procurement category has been determined for this event.
- Time horizon is not yet assessed for individual Events; a standard short-term assumption is used.
Confidence Confidence indicates how reliable ProcIntel considers the event assessment based on the quality, quantity and independence of the supporting evidence. It does not measure the event's importance.
3 · Moderate- Reported only by secondary sources so far — no primary/official confirmation yet.
- Reported by a single source so far — not yet independently corroborated.
- Key facts (what happened, when) are fully documented.
- Evidence has not been updated in 81 days.
Urgency How soon the evidence already identified for this event suggests action may be needed. Unknown means no sufficiently explicit or quantified timing evidence has been identified -- ProcIntel never infers a timeframe where the evidence does not support one.
UnknownTiming not established. No sufficiently explicit or quantified timing evidence has been identified. Procintel has not inferred urgency where timing evidence is insufficient.
Impact Direction Whether the procurement impact of this development is assessed as negative, positive, or neutral/mixed.
NegativeProvisional default — not yet reviewed.